Newbie needs some Help with Laminate

Old 05-30-10, 06:00 AM
Question Newbie needs some Help with Laminate

Hi all,
I have just recently bought some laminate flooring to start replacing the 30+ year old carpeting in my home. I AM STARTING SMALL. I have enough to do ONE room (my craft room) - less than 150 sq ft. Two reasons for that, one is that I've never done laminate before - but am not afraid to try new things, and two is that I can only afford to do one room at a time - not to mention being able to move furniture around to accommodate the new flooring.

My questions for you guys:
1. Can you point me to a couple of good websites that will help me get started? Yes, I know my way around hand and power tools and have availability of most anything I would need.
2. Since I am doing one room at a time, I plan that if I can't get the same laminate for each room that the hall where all the rooms meet will be a laminate tile - therefore totally different. Then it won't matter. My question is on what is the best orientation of the laminate planks in the rooms? This room is 10.5x13.5 with the door on the long side. There are several built in cabinets that also run along the long sides of the room. I was thinking that maybe the laminate should run lengthwise across the short sides (i.e. the length of the laminate be on the 10.5 width of the room). That would sure be easier to cut the butt ends to the builtins.
3. Or is the orientation a completely arbitrary thing? I was just thinking that the orientation that I am thinking of would make the room look wider than it is. Or is it a case of which orientation would result in the least waste?