Harwood floor repair

Old 06-17-10, 09:50 PM
Harwood floor repair

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I would appreciate some advice on how to repair the floor where part of a wall used to be, I do have some floor boards available that I removed from a closet.
Im planning on refinishing all the floors
Floor is about 70 yrs old .
Thank you

Sponsored Links
Old 06-17-10, 11:35 PM
I'm no pro, but I wouldn't just try to throw in boards in the gaps. If you have enough, I would take out some boards on each side of the gap and completely replace them with boards that will go all the way across the gap. You could also reuse some of the other boards too. That way you don't have a weird looking section where all of the seams line up.

If you decide to take boards out and move them, play around with them until you get the look you want.

Old 06-18-10, 03:06 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I don't think you will ever match end for end with newer boards. I would smooth up the ends as much as possible. Yours only shows one board to be too short, and I am amazed the remainder are squared off. It doesn't happen much in modern installations. Run your new boards perpendicular to the existing flooring, forming a threshold. You will need to remove the tongue from the last board and possibly split it to fit in the gap. Once installed, the shoe molding or base you will install should dress up the edges. Fill in any gaps with matching wood putty and finish the floors like you planned.

Old 06-18-10, 10:47 PM
Thank you for replies

Im wondering now if some one can tell what kind of wood is it [ house build 1938]
Regards

Old 06-19-10, 10:44 AM
Originally Posted by RODEL View Post
Thank you for replies

Im wondering now if some one can tell what kind of wood is it [ house build 1938]
Regards