Problems with Bamboo floor

Old 06-27-10, 04:58 PM
Problems with Bamboo floor

Hello everyone, I am new to DoItYourself, and I am also new to the world of doing house repairs myself to save money, time, and to gaining some much needed insight to become handy around my home.

I am starting to have problems with my Bamboo floor in my home. Some of the pieces of wood are not sticking. The floor was glued down when it was laid less than one year ago. The wood pieces that are not sticking seem to be isolated to a few areas, and they crack when stepped on.

No water was spilled on the floor. The only thing I can come up with is the hot climate. I am also worried about more pieces of flooring doing the same in the future, and I am also worried about the pieces becoming loose and hurting my kids.

Can the loose pieces of wood be fixed?

Any insight into the problem will be greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-27-10, 06:14 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
The bamboo flooring wasn't glued to the subflooring (please say it wasn't), but glued on edge to hold it together. The floor must float. With that said, how close is the flooring to the walls? Pull a piece of shoe molding. You should have at least 1/4 to 1/2" space all around the room. If not, the floor is expanding and causing the buckling.
Now your moniker is related to Chicago, then you state the hot climate. Your profile only says USA, so where are you? What type heat/cooling do you have in the room? Chicago has two seasons.....Winter and the 4th of July.

Old 06-29-10, 12:09 AM
Thank you for your response. The floor is completely glued down. The company that came in and installed the floor assured me this was the best way to install Bamboo flooring.

Was I wrong to believe this company?

I live in Florida, and the floor under the glued Bamboo flooring is terrazzo.

Under further inspection today, the problem areas are confined to 4 areas, but these areas are high traffic areas.

Old 07-01-10, 09:23 AM