Screen & Recoat hardwood floors, and the sprucing up of a house

Old 01-20-11, 12:23 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Screen & Recoat hardwood floors, and the sprucing up of a house

Hello, I am a university student living in a house owned by a family friend. It is located in a National Historic District in a very desirable part of the city.

No one has occupied the house for 6 years. It is structurally in very good shape, but the interior is dated and worn and could use some work. I am painting it, and the owner wants to sell it in the near future.

In its current state, I believe that he will not get near what the home is worth. The house was built in 1942, and is showing its age. I would like to screen and recoat the hardwood floors, replace old vinyl flooring with ceramic tile in the kitchen, entryway, half bath and full bath (totaling 270 square feet), install new baseboards, replace the door hardware (which is in terrible shape), and install new ceiling fixtures.

The thing is, he is very nonchalant about fixing the house. He hasn't been there in at least a year, and doesn't really seem to worry about it, but plans on reselling it in the near future. How do I get him to realize that with free labor from someone experienced in using power tools and in performing this kind of work (I grew up on a farm), This would not cost very much, and greatly increase the property's value? As it is, the house needs attention, but nothing very expensive or drastic. With a small outlay of money and a lot of elbow grease on my part, this house can become a real stunner.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-20-11, 01:26 PM
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
make it a business deal

The key to this is hitting a button that triggers some emotion in the owner. It may be money, reputation, publicity or almost anything. You have to come up with a proposal that speaks the owners language.