Hardwood on Sloping Subfloor?

Old 03-04-11, 11:29 AM
Hardwood on Sloping Subfloor?

I want to install hardwood flooring in my kitchen and dining room, but am concerned about the subfloor. It slopes in one direction pretty significantly (about 1" over an 8 ft. span). Is this going to cause problems with a nailed-down hardwood floor? There aren't high and low spots, it just slopes to a common point. We planned on using about a 5" wide x 3/4" thick plank. Will the width of the plank play a role?

Sponsored Links
Old 03-04-11, 01:48 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
I'm a painter not a floor installer but I painted an old farm house that they installed new hardwood in. An upstairs bed room had a severe slope [several inches over 8'-10'], I expected them to shim it up but they just laid it down. It worked fine, just didn't look too hot. They used the standard 2.5" flooring.

I suppose leveling the floor isn't feasible ??

Old 03-04-11, 02:30 PM
No, leveling is not feasible. Leveler would just add too much height. My other option is ceramic tile, but that would add too much height as well. I didn't want to go higher than 5/8-3/4", which is another reason hardwood is an attractive option.

Old 06-05-11, 06:44 PM
Can someone chime in and tell me if hardwood would work or not? There aren't any severe dips per say, its just that the floor slopes in a couple directions. It is going to be 6-7k for the install so I want to be sure it lasts. We want to do at least a 5" wide plank and no thicker than 5/8", glue and/or nail down.

Old 06-05-11, 07:36 PM
if the subfloor is "flat". i don't see a problem.

Old 06-06-11, 03:42 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation