Streaks after sanding with U-Sand

Old 03-29-11, 09:50 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Streaks after sanding with U-Sand

Hey all,

I'm a complete newbie and this is my first attempt at refinishing hardwoods. I rented a U-Sand from the Home Depot and went over everything with 25 grit, 36, then 80. I'm doing about 1000 square feet, and after my initial sanding, I noticed streaks in the wood. I assume they're low spots. I was hoping they'd come out with each of the next passes by with fine sandpaper, but it doesn't seem to do anything. I even tried putting on the coarser grits on the U-Sand to try and level it out, but that's not working either.

Most recently, I've been trying to sand them out with a hand sander using 36 grit and 80, but haven't had much luck, plus there's so many of them, that it would probably take me a month to sand them all out. Anyone know what may have caused them and how to get them out? I wasn't planning on staining before putting a clear coat, but if it might help hide some of the marks, I'll do whatever's necessary.

I've attached some pictures.

Any help at all is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Old 03-29-11, 01:57 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 852 Upvotes on 747 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

I'm not familiar with HD's U-Sand Is it a big circular sander?

Pic #1 looks like you haven't sanded down far enough. I can see where 1 board is lower than the rest. The sander should do the work, are you pressing down on it as you are sanding? Generally a drum sander is used for the initial sanding but they aren't very diy friendly.

Old 03-29-11, 04:12 PM
J