Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Varnish/poly for achieving rustic wood floors

CAL

05-14-12, 06:35 PM   #1  
Varnish/poly for achieving rustic wood floors

TLR Looking for tips and tricks on best finishes etc to achieve a natural rustic look for my wood floor.

This is my first post and I am new to the whole DIY scene so ill do my best to provide all the necessary info. I just purchased a home with wood floors throughout the entire house (fairly sure its pine) and without going into detail they clearly need to be sanded and refinished. My goal is to achieve a more natural type look where the appearance of varnish, poly or whatever I use is minimal (ill link pics of what I'm looking for below.) Iv done a good deal of research and think I have the sanding portion figured out. The area where I get in over my head is in the area of finishes. Iv done my best to research it but it seems like there are millions of varnishes/polys/shellacks/oilbased finishes/Swedish finishes... the list goes on. So far all I really have been able to figure out is that I most likely am looking for a flat or matte finish but would appreciate any suggestions of favorites that people have when attempting to get a more natural and less glossy/traditional poly look out of the wood. lastly Its worth mentioning that the boards are fairly small and
I'm not even really sure if the wood type/size of boards would lend itself to a more rustic look. Lastly I'd prefer to stay away from hand scraping though I have read tips on hammering/carefully damaging the floor and might try these unless people suggest against it. Thanks for taking the time.

pics of my floor and floors that have the finish I'm looking for below.

Current floor. 2973 Knoll Drive - Imgur

Example 1. http://www.hoskinghardwood.com/uploa...ndsculpted.jpg