Help with this hardwood refinishing disaster

Old 08-27-12, 11:48 AM
J
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Help with this hardwood refinishing disaster

Ok, I admit ... I'm a newb. I also just grew so tired of my house being a construction zone - I admit I rushed and screwed some things up. Now that we got that out of the way ....

I just laid unfinished white oak hardwood floors in my kitchen... I never did a job like that, but I admit the installation came out pretty good. They are a continuation of the hardwood in my living room and butt right up against it so I need to match the stain pretty well.

I sanded the wood with 80grit handheld belt sander. And then - my mistake... I stained it. The grit was terrible, I should have known better - but I mistakenly was thinking "its new floor, it doesnt need much ..." but I should have used a HIGHER grit for that reason. So the stain is all goopy and blotchy dark and terrible. I'm using Minwax Provincial (more on that later).

Lay it out for me, what do I do/use to fix it? Minwax "floor guide" says no higher than 100grit, but the can itself says 220 grit. I did the stain yesterday... how long do I wait to try to 'fix' it. Should I do anything to try to sop some up with mineral spirits? What grit do I use to rip all this off and start over, and then what grit to finish it on white oak?

And a separate question - after I've got this stripped... what do I do to not make this mistake again. This stain LOOKED right on the test swatches, but once it was on this floor (admittedly roughed up floor) it was monumentally darker. Also, the grain of my original floors has a red hue (which I see none of in Provencial), and overall the floors have a golden hue... so I think I need to find a better match stain (though the guy at the store pointed me to this one).