Raising existing floor

Old 02-18-13, 03:36 AM
Raising existing floor

this is my first time posting on a forum so hopefully this is the correct area.

I am trying to remove a wall between my kitchen and dining room to make it one room. there are existing hardwood floors in the dinning room and i recently ripped the kitchen floor down to the old tongue and groove plank subfloor. i need to now raise it back up 3/4" to make it level with the existing hardwoods in hopes i can lay down an engineered hardwood floating floor throughout.

from what i've read i should first lay down felt then 3/4 in subfloor plywood. should i lay it down perpendicular to the planks or parallel? Next frome what ive read i should secure it to the planks not the joists using decking screws correct?

Also, i tried to post a pic of the situation but keep getting a upload failed message, any idea what i'm doing wrong?

Last edited by iceeboxx; 02-18-13 at 03:51 AM.
Sponsored Links
Old 02-18-13, 04:16 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Welcome to the forums iceeboxx!

See if this helps - http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html

Old 02-18-13, 05:52 AM
Group Moderator
I moved your question into its own thread, should have better visibility this way.

Old 02-19-13, 02:24 AM
thanks mark. i couldn't figure out how to start my own thread

Old 02-19-13, 02:43 AM
[IMG][/IMG]

here are the pictures

Old 02-19-13, 03:04 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
You will be laying down an underlayment directly under the flooring, so doubling that under the subflooring may cause a moisture trap. Lay your new subflooring directly on the planks, securing between joists. I would, first, secure all the planks to the joists using screws to help prevent squeaking later on. Lay the plywood perpendicular to the joists, just as your planks are. Don't guess there is any way to talk you into tile for the kitchen and leaving the hardwood in the other room, huh?

Old 02-22-13, 02:29 AM