Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Can I reverse laminate planks for installation?

CAL

03-28-13, 06:28 PM   #1  
Can I reverse laminate planks for installation?

Hello,

I'm installing a floating laminate floor in my friend's home, but the job has turned out to be bigger than originally anticipated. To that end, I didn't start the job on a wall as I know I should have. I started it in front of the fireplace (middle of the room where the wood floor meets existing tile entry) (with an 18" clearance) and that seemed to be the most logical place to start. As I know this wasn't the correct place to start, I'm wondering if I can reverse the planks to go to the front door? I'm installing Pergo brand, if that helps.

I can't see how this can be done, but maybe I'm missing something? I'm not a professional, just a DIYer! So, please be kind! Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Forum Topic Moderator

VA

03-28-13, 07:04 PM   #2  
Having trouble picturing what it is that you up against. By Reversing the planks do you mean install them backwards? Laminate for the most part is a unidirectional install. You start on one wall and work toward the other, dodging obstacles as you progress. Given that, you can try the following: