Staining/Refinishing Hardwood floor

Old 05-08-13, 02:05 PM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Staining/Refinishing Hardwood floor

Im in a rental house and had permission to make some improvements, so I pulled the old carpet up (two layers of it) and under the bottom layer the carpet pad had been applied straight over the Pine hardwood flooring. Since its a rental house and not my own I rented a hardwood refinisher and quickly sanded and removed the old stain and the damage made from the carpet.

To be honest the refinishing and sanding wasnt the worlds most spectacular job because its not my home. I have finished the floors "Ebony Minwax", I've never done hardwood floors before so I did not know I was supposed to remove the excess Stain, so my floor is still a bit tacky (I've stained less than 16 hours ago) so I know i need to wait for the Urethane, but if my floor is still tacky do I absolutely have to remove the excess stain before I apply the "Fast-Drying Minwax Polyurethane" and can I apply it with a paint roller? I'm not expecting professional perfect finish, I just want to put the Urethane on so I can finally move into my room and stop sleeping on this little couch.

Old 05-08-13, 02:22 PM
F
Received 38 Upvotes on 30 Posts
Try using a rag dampened with mineral spirits to remove the excess stain. If you just keep the rag damp and not dripping with the mineral spirits it shouldn't take off much but the tacky part of the stain. I'd use the oderless mineral spirits.

Let this dry for 24 hours (with ventilation if at all possible and see if the stain is now acceptable. If it is then go ahead with the poly. I think a pad would be better than a roller. Be sure to lay an even coat of poly.

Old 05-08-13, 02:25 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
The poly can be applied with a roller but a pad will do a nicer looking job. I agree with using a damp thinner rag to remove the excess stain.

Old 05-08-13, 02:56 PM
D