Fraternity house wood floors

Old 06-28-13, 09:18 AM
Fraternity house wood floors

Hello all,

I am new to the forums, but as I've browsed around it looks like they will be increasingly helpful in my future projects. Well here goes nothing...

Currently I am a college student, handyman type here and there. I am living at my fraternity house this upcoming year and I would like to refinish to hardwood floors at the house before the end of the summer. Know I know what most of you all are thinking when you think frat house and let me just say that whatever it is you are thinking about nice new million dollar homes this is the complete opposite.

Our fraternity house was built in 1972. We have a one story house with a main large party room. Another small room we call "alumni room" and then two bedrooms to house 4 people total. As this house has been around 40 years it has taken plenty of damage. I know the main party room floor has been refinished from time to time but currently it looks as if there is no finish at all except in a few corner areas because it has been worn down. Also in the past year about 1/5 of the floor got so old it just about fell through so maintenance replaced just that one section with new wood, tried to match it to the old wood but never finished it.

So I am stuck with majority of 40 year old wood and a portion of new wood all pretty much unfinished.

My plan is to go in sand, paint our fraternity crest on the middle of the floor, and then throw down 4 or 5 coats of polyurethane on top. I've done a lot of research, but considering I have never truly refinished a floor start to finish I could use a little advise on how to go about it. Especially considering my situation with old frat house floor, new maintenance floor, painting our crest and stuff.

Thanks for any help that can be given.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-28-13, 09:42 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
I'm not sure what you are asking