New plywood subfloor

Old 10-22-13, 07:59 PM
H
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New plywood subfloor

Hey all!

Next weekend I plan on ripping up the carpet and subfloor in the room I have fondly named The Dog Pee Room (I recently inherited the family home, including all of the pee the evil Yorkies left behind).

I've read conflicting info, so I'm just trying to get clarification.

Long term, I want to install hardwood (likely engineered) or bamboo in the room. For now, I want it to stop smelling like piss.

For the new subfloor, I've read many things.

I live in north Texas, for what it's worth.

Do I leave gaps (1/8" is the common number given) around ALL seams in my new subfloor? That seems like a bad idea to me, but other forums and DIY websites recommended it. Should if use tongue and groove plywood? I am hard working and always double check my resources, but I'm a novice at non-cosmetic renovations. Is tongue and groove easy enough for me to work with, or should I stick with regular sheets?

I plan on using construction adhesive and screws to adhere the plywood to the joists.

Thanks!

(Also, I apologize for any weird typos or word substitutions if you found any. iOS 7 is clearly my arch nemesis and doesn't understand how TYPING WORKS)

Old 10-22-13, 09:48 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I have not used plywood for subflooring in at least 10 years.
I only use 3/4" Advantech T & G.
Far more moisture resistant, it will never delaminate.
No way would I use anything but T & G what ever you choose for subflooring.
With T & G there's no way for it to flex between the joist.
Far faster and about 1/2 the price to use ring shanked 8D nails.
Unless you have a stand up screw gun driving all those screws will get old real quick.

Old 10-23-13, 02:54 AM
H
Thank you!

Like I said, I'm definitely a novice on non-cosmetic updating. I'll definitely check out the product you recommend.