Removed tile to put floating laminate - question about leveling

Old 12-22-13, 10:56 PM
E
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Removed tile to put floating laminate - question about leveling

Hi all,

I had a small area of tile, about 4' x 4', by the front door. I've removed it and the surrounding floor to place laminate floating floor. The sub floor is a concrete slab. My question is regarding the thin set that was under the tile. It was well done job and grand old time to remove. I primarily used a reciprocating saw and scraper blades and finished with hammer and chisel. Its pretty cleaned up but I wouldnt say 100% level. How cleaned up does it need to be with this type flooring? I am familiar with laying tile and would definitely work it more if that is what I was installing, but I have no experience with the click together floating stuff.

I was thinking of getting a grinder and masonry disc or something to try and clean up the remainder but I also dont want to waste my time, back, or tools if I dont have too I can take a picture if it would help clarify but was hoping for some general advice on the topic.

Thanks in advance!

Old 12-23-13, 04:10 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Is there a good reason you removed tile to replace it with a product that, when wet, will become unstable? How are you going to handle the 1/2" expansion at the edges? I am assuming this is at an entrance door, where wet boots will take their toll.

To answer your question, it needs to be pretty flat in order to install a floating floor. IMO, you will be better off with maybe a different color of tile.

Old 12-23-13, 06:42 AM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I totally agree.
Now there's going to a trip hazard where you have to use transition strips.
Going to need a pad under it with a vapor barrier.