Need Help Installing Pergo Laminate In Adjoining Rooms

Old 01-16-14, 02:08 PM
G
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need Help Installing Pergo Laminate In Adjoining Rooms

Hello, I am going to be installing Pergo Laminate wood flooring in my home this weekend and this is my first time installing laminate and need some advice.

I am going to be installing this in my dining room and living room which are adjoined by an open double wide doorway. I want the flooring to seamlessly transfer through to the next room and not have a transition piece between the living room and dining room. I am unsure of which way to run the boards to achieve this though. Below is a diagram of the floor and numbered directions of which way to run the flooring.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]24924[/ATTACH]

I am using Pergo Presto "Nostalgic Oak" Laminate flooring and MP Global "Best" underlayment over plywood subfloor not concrete. Here is a link to the underlayment:

MP Global Best 400 in. x 36 in. x 1/8 in. Acoustical Recycled Fiber Underlayment with Film for Laminate Wood-QW100N1HD at The Home Depot

Any other tips or tricks for a first time installer?

Thanks for all and any information!

Attached Images  
Old 01-16-14, 02:29 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
I would start along the long uninterupted wall in the living room which is represented as the bottom of your drawing. The planks parallel to that same wall. Do some test layouts or the width of the flooring (put a bunch of single pieces side be side) to find an optimal starting point so that you hit the archway with clean cuts and not slivers. This will tell you how big your initial rip cut will be. I usually remove the baseboard and undercut all door jambs and moldings so that I can tuck the floor under for a clean look.

Old 01-16-14, 02:57 PM
G