Laying plank flooring diagonally

Old 02-07-14, 07:35 AM
Laying plank flooring diagonally

I'm laying plank flooring in four rooms connected by a common foyer. I am planning on laying this flooring on the diagonal, but can find little information or tips for doing this. Specifically, I'd like to know what other people have done in transitioning from room to room, tips on negotiating door jambs and closets. I have never done this before and would appreciate any help I can get.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-07-14, 08:50 AM
Group Moderator
I really don't know of anything special other than measuring for cuts sometimes needs to be more precise. When I did it I simply used a plank of flooring run from door jamb to jamb and butted the 45 degree flooring up to it. There was one section where I had two doorways close by and got to the point where both ends of the planks needed the 45 degree cut. I cut and fitted that difficult area without nailing anything in place. I started leaving the boards slightly long and took cuts a fraction of a blade width off until I got things fitting perfectly. Then once I was satisfied that everything would fit the way I wanted then I nailed it all down.

Old 02-07-14, 03:27 PM
Thanks for that tip! I am using click-lock laminate; so nailing is not an option. I have a lot of doorways. Each of the four rooms has a closet, the foyer has a closet, and doorways to enter each of those rooms. I figure I have two options for extending the floor into the closets and foyer. My preference would be to have one continuous run of diagonal floor boards without interruption. I'm anticipating that this might be more difficult than I can handle, so I am prepared to use T-moldings in the thresholds and straight boards in the closets if necessary. Do you have any suggestions for getting started? I've prepared and leveled the sub-floor, made my diagonal line across the center of the floor and also in the corner I wish to start.

Old 02-08-14, 03:59 AM
Group Moderator