Hardwoods in kitchen?

Old 03-17-14, 06:38 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hardwoods in kitchen?

Hello, I currently have hardwood floors throughout 75% of my house with carped in the living room and master. My kitchen is a little small and my dining room is connected to the kitchen. I am considering extending my kitchen out into my large dining room, but the floors dont match up. Do you think it's possible to match the wood floor that I have and just replace my kitche floor with hardwood so it's a uniform surface through both the kitchen and dining room? If so, does anyone know how much this might cost? My kitchen floor would only be about 50 SF or so...

also could anyone tell me if the floor has to be replaced under all the cabinets and kitchen applicances if I went this route? I have very little experience?

Thank you!

Sponsored Links
Old 03-17-14, 06:52 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 74 Votes on 70 Posts
Many don't care for hardwood in the kitchen because it might get wet although I've had parquet in my kitchen for the last 10-12 yrs and it's held up great. Unless a transition strip would look ok, you'd need to lace the new wood in with the old and then refinish it in both rms. You can install flooring right up to the cabinets instead of under but you might have issues with the heights of the appliances.

Usually it's best to get multiple onsite estimates ..... and check references!

Old 03-18-14, 06:58 AM
thanks for the reply! I'm just really not sure what I should plan on this one.

Old 03-30-14, 11:20 PM
Does anyone have a rough idea of what it would cost/take to scale back some hardwoods to extend a kitchen floor out further into a dining room? My dining room hardwoods intersect with my kitchen floor vertically...is it possible to take back my hardwoods about 4 feet and cut the existing hardwoods? The kitchen is just too small..

Old 03-31-14, 04:49 AM
Forum Topic Moderator