Sanding a hardwood floor with hand-held sanders

Old 08-21-14, 02:33 PM
Sanding a hardwood floor with hand-held sanders

I'm a novice DIYer trying to refinish a hardwood floor for the first time. It's a very small area at the top of my stairs. Since using a stand-up machine isn't practical, I borrowed a couple of my dad's hand-held devices - a belt sander and a random orbital sander. Sanding off the old finish is taking a lot longer than I thought - especially after watching youtube videos of similar devices instantly taking finish off. So my question is do I need a coarser grit or more patience? Since starting the job, I've gone coarser and coarser. Currently, on my belt sander (the more powerful of the two devices) I'm using 36-grit and on the random orbital I'm using 20-grit. It's much more effective than what I started with (120-grit) but it still seems like it's taking forever. Do I even have to go coarser (16-grit, for instance) or this just a really long job?

Sponsored Links
Old 08-21-14, 02:47 PM
Group Moderator
Welcome to the forums.

Generally speaking, a belt sander is not the right choice, as they can remove too much material quickly. Hence, the random orbital sander is generally preferred.

How big is the area? I can't imagine this taking all that long unless something is gumming up the paper.

Old 08-21-14, 03:21 PM
Thanks for the reply, Mitch. The area is about 45-50 square feet. Approx how long do you think that would take if I was using 20-grit with the orbital sander?

Old 08-21-14, 04:25 PM
Group Moderator
I've never used 20 grit paper, I would think that would be too harsh and removing too much material.

How long have you been at this, how far have you progressed and what are you sanding through?

Old 08-21-14, 05:11 PM
The bad thing about a common vibratory hand sander is that you should have good knees and a good back.

If it is old floor that has seen a lot of traffic, you may have remove many coats.

Dick