Concerned about asbestos, but want to do it "right"

Old 08-24-14, 10:02 AM
Question Concerned about asbestos, but want to do it "right"

I bought a home that was built in 1964. The kitchen floor is this ugly, drab white vinyl. Having discovered that there is hardwood in both adjoining rooms (living and dining room) under the awful carpets, I stripped the carpets and brought the hard woods back to life.

Now to the issue at hand: the kitchen floor. I peeled up a corner and dug down to see what was under it and a friend tells me that I am probably looking at asbestos issues. Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 253
Size:  39.8 KB

So, I want to do this the 'right' way so that myself - if I plan to stay a long time - or the next home owner can't say "What the heck?!" when they try to renovate.

I am a beginner at best at DIY. I have no issue putting in the work to tear this out down to the bottom if that's the right thing to do.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-24-14, 10:17 AM
Group Moderator
Welcome to the forums!

First thing to do is to have the materials that might be asbestos tested to confirm if they are or not. If they are, then you should have it abated and removed properly. After that is completed you can continue as normal. There are many companies that do asbestos abatement and it is not a huge deal.

Old 08-24-14, 11:02 AM
I was trying to renovate my 2000sqft commercial building that was built back in 60's. It had asbestos, and to get a permit for the City, I had to get it tested and removed. I had it done during 1997, that cost me $3K. I replaced all 4 outside walls with bricks, redone all plumbing and electricals, re-insulated and replaced all inner wall with new studs, etc etc. Pretty much a new building..