Carpet to Hardwood using Retrotreads

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-22-15, 12:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Carpet to Hardwood using Retrotreads

When I removed the carpet from my stairs I found what I believe to be the security alarm wires running down one side of the stairs. I want to update to hardwood. Some of the wires are pushed into the side corner some are on top of the tread. Should I try to push all the wires between the treads and risers? I have to chip away the wood on the treads for the wires to fit.Name:  IMG_0442.jpg
Views: 195
Size:  33.7 KBName:  IMG_0456.JPG
Views: 169
Size:  33.0 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-22-15, 01:30 PM
czizzi's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 7,124
You can rout out a small channel in the backside of your steps and risers and feed the wire through as you work your way from bottom to top. Or consider removing the steps as they are and replacing with true oak treads and risers instead of the retreads. That way, with the stairs open, you can run the wire behind and stapled to the stringers.
 
  #3  
Old 01-22-15, 01:33 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,568
I vote for ripping out the 2x treads/risers and routing the wires on the back side of the stringer. Less likelihood of the wires shorting out later on.
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-15, 03:42 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
I would drill at an advantageous point and run the wires below the staircase, eliminating the wire altogether.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'