do I need to patch these concrete chunks before laminate


  #1  
Old 07-21-15, 08:27 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 505
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
do I need to patch these concrete chunks before laminate

Or will covering it with vapor barrior be good enough


Imgur
Imgur
 
  #2  
Old 07-22-15, 04:48 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
I would remove them and use concrete patch in the divots. I would not, however, install laminate below grade on concrete. Actually, I wouldn't install laminate anyway, but especially on concrete. Have you checked for moisture in the slab, yet?
 
  #3  
Old 07-22-15, 10:28 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 505
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Fast setting quickcrete work ok to patch?

This slab is not sub grade. Its a single story house that's 50 plus years old.

Have not checked for moisture, but shouldn't the vapor barrior take care of that?
 
  #4  
Old 07-22-15, 02:14 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
You can use this. It is premixed. Quikrete 10 lb. Vinyl Concrete Patcher-113311 - The Home Depot

If you trust the installation of the vapor barrier and its quality, it will keep some condensation at bay. If you have a moisture problem in you slab, it is not advisable to install laminate. It will absorb water and will deform. To test your slab, tape a clear piece of plastic sheeting on all sides to the slab. Leave it for a few days and see if moisture collects on the plastic. If it does, then you shouldn't install laminate.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: