Before I begin (Hardwood Install)

Old 11-28-18, 07:45 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Before I begin (Hardwood Install)

So I have never laid down hardwood flooring but am pretty handy and worked in a wood shop for many years in my younger life. I just bought some skipped planed ash flooring from the local lumber mill in town that is going to go great in my house with the exposed barn beams. There is 3 different widths just because I thought it would look cool, 2.5", 4" and 6". Since i have never done this before but have watched and read many videos and forums I feel pretty confident that I can do this but i still have questions since there always seems to be a little variety in peoples answers.

I am putting the flooring on the second floor but most of it is over a finished unheated garage. Do I need to put down a vapor barrier or retardant? If so what is a good quality product?

What is the best glue I should be using?

Do the boards need to be running perpendicular to my joists? I feel like it would flow better in the room if they ran parallel but I want to make sure the job is done correctly without any issues in the future.

Thanks for the info and if there are any websites that I can be looking at please suggest them as well.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 11-28-18, 08:15 AM
Received 357 Votes on 333 Posts
Im going to assume you have a insulation in the floor and that most likely has a vapor barrier so you should be good.

Flooring, with the exception of laminate, should always go perpendicular to joists.

Never done glue down so will defer to others!

Old 11-28-18, 03:42 PM
Received 14 Votes on 12 Posts
Nail down or floating is the preferred method of installation. A 15# felt paper under the flooring for noise suppression and squeak prevention. If floating, a 3 in 1 underlayment is required. Perpendicular to the joists will give you a stronger floor.

What is your subfloor made of? How thick?