Hardwood over hardwood

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-10-19, 12:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 269
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hardwood over hardwood

I have older 1960's built ranch with original hardwood in living room- bedrooms etc.
Part of the original hardwood floor is damaged (not sure exactly how bad)- I have only seen pics. I want to put new hardwood flooring in- Can i install over the existing? or do I need to pull that floor up?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-10-19, 03:03 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 22,894
Received 162 Votes on 152 Posts
It depends if it's flat or not. (No more than 3/16" variation in 8' radius) Also if your exterior doors can handle the extra thickness. Generally you would want to remove it just to keep the floor from getting too thick.

Do you know what your subfloor is?
 
  #3  
Old 09-10-19, 04:55 PM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 4,146
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
I have only seen pics.
Only seen pictures? What does that mean?

Doubling up on wood floors if everything is solid can be done but it comes with some issues as XS stated.

If damage is minor I would recommend repairing and refinishing the entire floor!
 
  #4  
Old 09-10-19, 06:57 PM
sam floor's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: May 2010
Location: floor installer
Posts: 904
Received 5 Votes on 3 Posts
All wood contracts and expands with humidity and temperature changes. If they move at the same rate, might be ok. If they don't, the new floor could split.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: