Hardwood on stair-teps

Old 08-16-01, 08:24 AM
Visiting Guest
Soon I'll be installing hardwood all over the house. I am new at this but I trust this forum s to help me like it did with my bathroon project. The situation is as follows: one side of the stair is against a wall so no problem with it I am planning to put moldings on that side but, the other side of the stair is exposed to the living room and I do not know how to finish the side of the hardwood, and the nosing so it will look nice on the side. I did not see a molding that will cover that. Thank you in advance
Piru

Old 08-17-01, 10:16 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Hardwood on stairs

I am not an installer, I just sell hardwood floors. Most folks buy their stair parts from a retailer of treads and risers, so this is not an issue. I have however had customers tell me they installed the hardwood strips on stairs and used nosing along the front and sides. If nosing is used on fronts and sides, this would require a mitre. I believe I would do some more research before installing hardwood on stairs. Perhaps Ken Fisher or someone else on this forum will come along with some great advice. I have personally never been in a home where hadwood flooring strips or planks were installed on stairs. Most folks tend to purchase treads and risers.

Old 08-18-01, 12:16 PM
Elite Flooring/Ken Fisher
Visiting Guest
Lightbulb

Patricia:

You have the right ideas, but in P's case I would suggest in calling a professional. Steps are usually a common focal point in a home and to use any type of moldings(qtr'd, shoemold) on a closed side looks cheesy in my opinion.

Old 08-18-01, 12:37 PM
Visiting Guest
Thank you guys for the advice.
twelvepole: By treads and risers you mean that the steps and the risers will all be of one piece? That sound very expensive and how do I match the color if I buy the flooring and the stairs in different stores?