remove flooring - newbie

Old 04-10-02, 05:19 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
remove flooring - newbie

Hi: I am a newbie to this board but have used this type of board on other forums. I did a search but did not find what I was looking for.

My wife and I are buying a house in MA and are working on it now before we close. We remove a whole ton of stuff, walls, windows, doors, cabinets, oil tank, elec service.....etc This weekend I am removing the 2 layers of stick down flooring from the kitchen. The bottom layer is thehuge sheet type (from 1950s) and the top layer is glued to the sheet type in the 12inch squares type. (I am not up on my flooring types obviously)

OK, what is the best way to take up both layers and get to the subfloor below? It looks like a tedious job but I want to make a nice clean wood surface for me to put down nice kitched tiling.

Thanks for any help you can provide and I promise to help out with other peoples questions as I use this site. Peace: e3 - spamman

Sponsored Links
Old 04-11-02, 05:06 PM
T
Removing old floor covering

A major concern in removing old floor covering is asbestos. If old floor coverings and adhesives contain asbestos it is best to encapsulate them with a new floor covering in order to seal them off or to hire a certified asbestos remover to remove the product. Go to www.doityourself.com/home-safety/asbestos.htm to get info about an asbestos test kit.

Old 04-12-02, 05:25 AM
S
Thats an interesting point. I would not have thought asbestos was used in the fabrication of flooring tiles. Was this done on a certain type of flooring and is apparent simply by looking or bringing a piece to a Home Depot or something? I am under the gun to get this done so really want to expedite matters. The dumpster is coming tomorrow as well and I need to get rid of it all this weekend.

Thanks for your help. Peace: e3 - spamman

Old 04-12-02, 06:40 AM
T
Asbestos in floor covering