Thermostat wiring


  #1  
Old 12-16-08, 12:10 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kokomo, Indiana
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat wiring

My question is, if someone can help. I have a Trane furnace/air. there are four wires that come out for the thermostat. Red, Green, Yellow, and white. I matched the code from the old trane thermo, to the back of the new Hunter Programmable. Following the diagrams, my yellow to
Y1, white to W/B, Green to G. I have the red wire hooked up to RH, but there are two other setting's RC1 & RC. my question is does in matter if the red is hooked to the RH, RC, or RC1.

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-16-08, 01:51 PM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,548
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
RC and RH should be jumped together with the red wire landed on one of them.
 
  #3  
Old 12-16-08, 03:26 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kokomo, Indiana
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rc & rh

Should I jumped RC & RH at the Thermostat?
 
  #4  
Old 12-16-08, 09:20 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes, add a small jumper wires on all of the R's..

What model of t-stat do you have? I've never heard of Rc1?
 
  #5  
Old 12-17-08, 08:26 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kokomo, Indiana
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Model number

I have a Hunter, model 44660 Programmable. I purchase it at Lowes. Thanks for your help
 
  #6  
Old 12-19-08, 07:44 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kokomo, Indiana
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane model

The furnace is a Trane Electric Ignition model number
TUE060A936K2, I'm installing a Hunter programmable thermo
model number 44660.

also when the furnace engages, the compressor on the outside of the house also turns on.

following the diagram

Furnace; Yellow attached to Thermostat Y1
Furnace; Green attached to Thermostat G
Furnace; White attached to Thermostat W/B
Furnace; Red attached to Thermostat RH jumped to RC

Attachments not in use on the Thermostat RC1 & Y/O

the order in which the numbers are
( Y1, RH, RC1,RC,Y/O, W/B. G)


Thanks, I hope this is a better description.
 
  #7  
Old 12-20-08, 04:23 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Switch on back of the t-stat set to HG?

If it set to that, then you have a defective t-stat.

You have it wired up right.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: