Upgrading a thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-29-08, 12:14 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Upgrading a thermostat

I'm trying to upgrade my old thermostat with a new programmable one but I'm confused as to which wires go where on the new one. My old one is a Trane Baystat 305 and the new one that I want to use is a Honeywell RTH230B. The wiring on the Trane is:

R = red wire
G = green wire
Y = yellow wire
W = white wire
There is also a blue wire that is tucked back and not being used for anything.

The Honeywells wiring codes are:
Rh
Rc
W
Y
G
I believe there is a jumper wire on the Rh and Rc ports.
There is also a switch with HE and HG that I am unsure what goes there.

Can you help me with this? Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-29-08, 02:16 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Old---color----------New
R = red wire--------Rh/Rc (jumper between the two)
G = green wire-----G
Y = yellow wire-----Y
W = white wire-----W


There is also a switch with HE and HG that I am unsure what goes there.
HE if your furnace is electric.

HG if your furnace is gas or oil.

This is talked about on step 2.4 of your install manual.

Then on step 4, I suggest setting CPH on both heating and cooling to 3.
 
  #3  
Old 12-29-08, 06:17 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your help, everything seems to be working good.
 
  #4  
Old 12-29-08, 06:49 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Glad to hear, and thanks for the update.

Have a Happy and Safe New Year!
 
  #5  
Old 11-17-10, 06:51 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Terminals labeled 1 and 2

Hi, I am also replacing a Trane baystat 305 with a honeywell programmable from home depot (RTH6350D) I've installed this thermostat before in another house and it was very easy. My Trane model has two extra wires labeled 1 and 2. I cant' find evidence of what they are online. I don't know what these map to for the new thermostat. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 11-17-10, 09:08 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by paran0ya View Post
Hi, I am also replacing a Trane baystat 305 with a honeywell programmable from home depot (RTH6350D) I've installed this thermostat before in another house and it was very easy. My Trane model has two extra wires labeled 1 and 2. I cant' find evidence of what they are online. I don't know what these map to for the new thermostat. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
I am not able to find anything on this.. What is yoru system? furnace or heat pump?

You can go to the unit and make notes what the color wire is going on to.
 
  #7  
Old 11-17-10, 10:39 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: