Trouble With Display

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-20-09, 10:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trouble With Display

I am having a very similar problem. Prestige thermostat replaced from hunter programmable (previously was old mercury type). Have elec lennox furnace (around 30 yrs old)

Only had 4 wires, instead of buying 5 to 4 wire module it seemed simple enough to just run new 5 wire.

At old thermostat
Blue to Y
Green to G
White to W
Red to RC

Had this at furnace:
Blue wire labeled R to Red
Red wire labeled W1 to White
Black wire labeled G to Green
Yellow wire labeled 3 & Brown wire labeled X to Blue

my assumptions:
label 3 means nothing is yellow wire
label x means common

Tried this at furnace:
Blue wire labeled R to Red
Red wire labeled W1 to White
Black wire labeled G to Green
Yellow wire labeled 3 to Yellow
Brown wire labeled X to Blue
And this at Prestige Thermostat
Red to RC (jumper to R)
White to W
Green to G
Yellow to Y
Blue to C

Got a blank screen

Tried to attach the 5 wire to previous hunter thermostat using 5 wire,, got a magical puff of smoke out of the furnace compartment, said some expletives, wired the old 4 wire back up to the hunter thermostat and now continuous smoke from transformer, said some more expletives, so I shut everything down, no power to anything.

Two questions:
what did I do to my furnace?
What am i doing wrong with hooking up the Prestige thermostat?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-20-09, 11:00 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ejfick View Post
Two questions:
what did I do to my furnace?
What am i doing wrong with hooking up the Prestige thermostat?
1- Sounds like you burned out the transformer, and hope you did not do any damage to the t-stat.

2-I had a hard time following of what you were doing, and I'm lost.

I think you got 3 and X mixed up, and that what caused a blank screen, and then you hooked up the told t-stat and shorted out the transformer.

What is the model # on the furnace?

Do you have A/C on the furnace? If so, there should be two wires meeting up at the furnace.

1 wire joins Y from t-stat. 2nd wire goes to common on the furnace.
 
  #3  
Old 09-20-09, 10:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Jay11J
thanks for the reply, had a hard time finding the post after it was moved, did I post incorrectly in that old post, same model Prestige thermostat as original post?

Sorry if my post was confusing, I Switched a mercury switch to a programmable earlier in the year and then recently got given a thx9000 prestige thermostat and trying to hook it up.

The model number of the furnace appears to be "E12Q2-15-1P"
(found this "unit information" http://www.hvacpartsshop.com/E12%20Series.pdf)
I do have an A/C attached to this unit, not clear on your question about two wires meeting, sounds like my "Yellow wire labeled 3 & Brown wire labeled X to Blue" I can't figure out why the one is labeled "3" and the other "X". Which would you say is the common and which the Y?
I know there is a wiresaver module available "THP9045" but if cant figure out the common it would also be now help? http://customer.honeywell.com/techli...69-2065EFS.pdf

The first part of my post is about the setup I had that was working previously.
"At old thermostat
Blue to Y
Green to G
White to W
Red to RC

Had this at furnace:
Blue wire labeled R to Red
Red wire labeled W1 to White
Black wire labeled G to Green
Yellow wire labeled 3 & Brown wire labeled X to Blue

my assumptions:
label 3 means nothing is yellow wire
label x means common"

Next i described what I tried to get new thermostat working:
"Tried this at furnace:
Blue wire labeled R to Red
Red wire labeled W1 to White
Black wire labeled G to Green
Yellow wire labeled 3 to Yellow
Brown wire labeled X to Blue
And this at Prestige Thermostat
Red to RC (jumper to R)
White to W
Green to G
Yellow to Y
Blue to C"

Any help is greatly appreciated,
Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 09-21-09, 07:32 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I moved your post to a new thread since your furnace is not the same as the the post you first posted this on.


I am going to ignore of what's is or was wired up to the furnace.

First thing you need to get is a new transformer since that went up into smoke.

Once you got the transformer replaced, we are going to wire up the t-stat the correct way. Keep the power turned off till we are done.


T-stat----------Furnace---------A/C
R/rc---red-----Blue(R)
W-----white---Red(W)
G-----green---Black(G)
C-----blue-----Yellow(C)------white
Y------yellow------------------red

I do not see #3 or X on the diagram that was on the file you posted for the unit itself.

So you may of shorted it out on one of those wires.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: