Thermostat installation

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-09-09, 06:50 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: us
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat installation

I have a Radiant Heating Boiler system with 6 zones connected with a Taco ZVC406EXP zone controller. I recently bought a Omnistat 2 Thermostat from HAI so that I can control the thermostat with a home automation controller. I can not seem to get the thermostat to power up. However, there are only two wires coming out of the ZVC406 to connect to the thermostat. When I connect the RH and W1 wires it turns the thermostat on but it blinks on and off (it has a backlit display) maybe suggesting that it isn't getting enough power?? There is a jumper between the RH and RC leads too, and I tried to remove this and it did not work either.

Anybody have any suggestions or comments on how to connect the two? Are the two not compatible, do I need a common wire, and if so how do I get a common wire from the ZVC406 as there are only 2 connections per zone for the thermostat? Thanks in advance for any help you can give.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-10-09, 06:28 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Looking through the install for that thermostat, there are instructions for having to use a common wire. You should be able to pick up that common wire from the terminal strip in the ZVC panel.

Here's a link for 'helpers' to follow to look at the install PDFs for the OMNI thermostats:

HAI Omnistat2 Thermnostats

Also notice (scroll down on page) that there is a 'power module' available for the thermostat.

I'm going to move this over to the 'thermostatic controls' topic, because I think you can get better help there.
 
  #3  
Old 10-10-09, 08:58 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: us
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't see where to pull the common from the ZVC406? Does anyone know if this is possible or is there a different zone controller that does have a common?
 
  #4  
Old 12-06-09, 09:08 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Common wire

I don't have a zone controller, but other than that have a similar system. So without knowledge of the zone controller panel, I can tell you that I have a common wire to my thermostats. The common wire comes from the non-power side of the transformer (the side with the 'white' wire).

I didn't install this system and I'm not an electrician.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: