How to Wire a XR13h with a TCONT803

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-29-10, 10:14 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to Wire a XR13h with a TCONT803

I recently found a 803 and want to add it to my new purchased system. I need some esp in the area of aux and emergency heat.

unit is a 4WHC3042A and thermostat TCONT803

K Green
 
  #2  
Old 09-29-10, 07:29 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Post the terminal = color combination on your existing stat.
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-10, 10:11 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok i will post tomorrow or friday. plan to change out this weekend.
 
  #4  
Old 10-01-10, 05:53 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
TCON--------4WHC
E-----nothing
Aux---white---W
G-----green---G
O/B---orange--O
C-----Blue----B
Y-----Yellow--Y
R/Rc--Red-----R

K Green
 
  #5  
Old 10-01-10, 08:50 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What is the 4WHC3042A? Is that a model # of something if so, what brand?
 
  #6  
Old 10-01-10, 09:40 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes its the model number and its a Trane over/under the R-410 not R-22.

I am going from a TH5220D1029 to the TCON803 and there 8 wires in the wall, two unused.
 
  #7  
Old 10-01-10, 10:02 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ktgreen View Post
TCON--------4WHC
E-----nothing
Aux---white---W
G-----green---G
O/B---orange--O
C-----Blue----B
Y-----Yellow--Y
R/Rc--Red-----R
This all above is correct, only thing need to do is add jumper to E from Aux at the t-stat.

Did you get the outdoor sensor?
 
  #8  
Old 10-01-10, 10:14 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
no not yet. I have the Trane number but not the Honeywell number.

Do you also have the performance number under different temps. heat and cool?
 
  #9  
Old 10-02-10, 06:21 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ktgreen View Post
no not yet. I have the Trane number but not the Honeywell number.
C7089U-1006

Do you also have the performance number under different temps. heat and cool?
Talking about compressor lock out? Most of the time it's around 20˚, most electric can go down to 15˚
 
  #10  
Old 10-02-10, 04:44 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm referring to the performance data, like 95 outside 80 inside 71 wb while cooling and the btus as temperature outside deceases. I think its something from the dealer website like comfortsite.

K Green
 
  #11  
Old 10-02-10, 09:07 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't have anything like that, and didn't see anything off hand on the web.
 
  #12  
Old 10-06-10, 09:45 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Jay what is the (T) Defrost Control 'T' Signal? Is this the signal to start aux heat during defrost.

K Green
 
  #13  
Old 10-06-10, 12:45 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
T on the old Trane is to cycle the t-stat Aux heat, not for defrost. As it gets colder outside, the AUx will cycle more often.

The T wire is not used on the new t-stat.
 
  #14  
Old 10-31-10, 09:58 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Suggested Tstat setting heat pump with aux heat and outdoor temp sensor.
 
  #15  
Old 11-01-10, 05:29 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How many stage is your electric heating coil? 1 or 2? If not sure, what is the model # on the coil?

Install set up menu.

170- 7
180- 1
200- 0
210- 0
220 to 270- 3 (some may not show up)
280-1
300- up to you.

340-2
350-0
360-40

Any other settings you can figure out, if not sure please let me know.
 
  #16  
Old 11-01-10, 08:22 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I only have just one coil.
 
  #17  
Old 11-01-10, 08:57 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, then do what I posted above.
 
  #18  
Old 11-01-10, 10:27 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the help. FYI I live in west texas, can the electric heat lockout go lower b/c of the low humidity say 10-20%.
 
  #19  
Old 11-01-10, 10:29 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On that model of t-stat, no it can't.


best advise, don't use the program mode (set back) on HP system.. Set the temp you like and forget it.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: