Digita thermostat with swamp cooler

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-11-10, 04:52 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Digita thermostat with swamp cooler

I am going to install a swamp cooler. I have central heating/air conditioning already. I have a few questions before I start on this. I am planning on installing a Mastercool.

Is Mastercool the one I should use or should I use a different brand?

Is it okay to use a thermostat instead of an off/on switch with a swamp cooler?

If the answer to the above question is yes, can the central unit be used on the same thermostat?

What would be the best kind of thermostat to use with it?

I live in the SoCal desert cities area, what size of unit would you recommend for a 1300 sq. ft. house. It often is over 100 here in the summer so keep that in mind.
 
  #2  
Old 10-11-10, 08:04 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I know nothing about swamp coolers, do I won't be able to help you on the sizing on my end.

As for t-stat, if the cooler has a low voltage hook up, you can use a t-stat to control it.

You can't tie it with your other A/C, unless you did a switch that you will have to switch between that and the A/C.

If it's low voltage, any t-stat would work, and I'd suggest Honeywell.
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-10, 09:00 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Jay. I don't know if it's low voltage or not. I'll post in the other forum and see what I can find out.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: