Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Thermostatic Controls
Reload this Page >

install help needed : no heat after replacing Chronotherm iii with vision pro

install help needed : no heat after replacing Chronotherm iii with vision pro

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-16-10, 07:26 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
install help needed : no heat after replacing Chronotherm iii with vision pro

I recently replaced my old choronotherm iii (t8611r1000) with a vision pro 8321.
Our heat pump is a ruud upma-036JAZ (all electrical; furnace I believe is a RUUD UHQA-1310B); all was working fine before the replacement.

All the control/display work, but there is no (regular) heat; emergency heat works though. Fan does work.

Here is is old vs new setup, the wire color is in the middle

old connector wire new connector
R R R (R and Rc have a jumper)
C Black C
B B O/B
G Green G
W1 (jumped to Y) Y Y
W2 (jumped to E) White E (jumped to Aux)

other connectors have no wire and are not jumped

I set up the vision pro as a 2 heat/1 cool with aux heat (option 0170-7 in the installation manual-see page 7 of the vision pro th8000 series installation guide); option for the changeover valve was set to 0 (terminal controls valve in cooling) as the wire was blue (see option 0190 on page 7 of installation manualthis is the number 1 suspicion I have; should the changeover control be set to heating? Would it hurt ie damage the equipment to test like this).
I ran the unit through the test modes, they all run (no fire or strange noises ), but still, no heat.


I did all the connections with A/C and heat power off (put them back on now) so as to minimize electrical damage to the equipment.

I'm a bit at a loss now to find what is wrong; help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance
 
  #2  
Old 10-16-10, 03:26 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Looks like you got it?

Double check.

Old-----New
R--------R/Rc
C---------C
B--------O/B
G---------G
W1/Y-----Y
W2-------E/Aux


Set 190 to 1.
 
  #3  
Old 10-17-10, 07:56 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thx Jay - it works like a charm now
 
  #4  
Old 10-17-10, 10:00 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Glad to hear you are working.

Have a great week!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: