Thermostat setup with 2x AC/HP units

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-10-10, 12:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat setup with 2x AC/HP units

Okay, there is a little explanation needed here:

I had a small building built for my company about 4 years ago. The AC installer told me about there great new thermostats that do this and that. Sure put in the good ones I said. He ended up installing two TH8320U1008. Recently I noticed that my employees are adjusting one of the units but not the other. So I began looking for a thermostat unit that could control 2AC/2HP/2EH so that my employees would only need to make adjustments to one unit. My research lead me back to the same unit I have, the TH8320U1008. Honeywells web site make it appear the it can control 2AC unit and 3 heat sources (I assume that typically translates into two heat pump with the EM heat from the two units being tied together.

I can find the instruction manuel but no luck on an installation guide.

Thank you in advance.
MM
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-10-10, 08:48 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, You can't wire both unit into one stat, unless a relay is added to break the power between the two units.

The 3 heat, 2 cool you are seeing means how many stages the stat can handle.

So, 3 stages for HP, 2 stage for fuel heat, and 2 stages of cooling.

(again sorry for the last post)
 
  #3  
Old 12-10-10, 11:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are there any good systems that can multiple AC units?

In the case at my office, the AC/Heater systems are redundant units and cool/heat the same areas. I would like to look at a system that can control 3 units in my house from a central location. Thanks for your help.
 
  #4  
Old 12-10-10, 03:27 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am sure there is something out there, but I am not aware of what is out there.. IF they are out there, it won't be cheap!
 
  #5  
Old 12-10-10, 07:33 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,384
Received 11 Votes on 9 Posts
Carrier 3V VVT (Variable, Volume and temperature) can control multiple units from a central control. It is not cheap.



 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: