Help Changing Tstat from Trane TCON4 to Honeywell FocusPro 6220D


  #1  
Old 02-11-11, 10:41 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help Changing Tstat from Trane TCON4 to Honeywell FocusPro 6220D

I would like some help on replacing a Trane TCONT401
thermostat with a Honeywell FocusPro TH6220D programmable. My system is a Trane XR14 4TWR4024C1000A heat pump which functions as both air conditioner or heater, a Trane 4TEE3F31B1000AA variable speed air handler, and a BAYHTR1410 supplementary heater all running on electricity. I assume my setup is a 2H/1C but I could be wrong. The current thermostat setup uses 7 wires as follows:

Label Wire
R = Red
X2 = Black
W1 = White
Y = Yellow
G = Green
O = Orange
B = Blue

The new tstat has the following connections:

Rc = jumpered to R = power
R =
Y = Compressor contactor
C = 24VAC common
O/B = Changeover Valve
G = Fan Relay
Aux = Aux heat relay
E = Emergency heat relay
L = Sends output when set on Em. Heat

I dont have a schematic that shows which wires do what on the Trane TCon4 to make a conversion. Can anyone point out which colored wires go where for my setup?

I would guess system type would = 5 (2h/1c heatpump w/ aux ht)
changeover valve = 1 (o/b terminal energized in heating)
fan control (heating) = 1 (electric)
stage 1 heat cycle rate (CPH) either 3 for hot water systems or over 90% efficiency or 9 for elecric furnaces?
stage 2 heat cycle rate/aux heat cycle rate either 3 or 9?
em heat cycle rate either 3 or 9?
stage 1 compressor cycle rate CPH leave at 3
stage 2 compressor cycle rate CPH leave at 3
manual changeover leave at manual
 
  #2  
Old 02-11-11, 04:03 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by cyblet View Post
I would like some help on replacing a Trane TCONT401
thermostat with a Honeywell FocusPro TH6220D programmable.
What's wrong with the old stat? That stat is a very good stat.



Old-------------New
R = Red--------R/Rc
X2 = Black----E
W1 = White---Aux
Y = Yellow----Y1
G = Green------G
O = Orange----O/B
B = Blue--------C

Set up menu.

1-5
2-0
3-1
6-3
8-3
9-2

I do not suggest using the program mode.. best to "HOLD" and leave it at the temp you like.
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-11, 04:17 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I would also recommend using hold for heating to avoid using the electric heat strips to recover from setback temps. In this part of the country we use cooling 9 or 10 months of the year and heating for only 2 or 3. A programmable stat would be a great idea for cool mode.
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-11, 08:44 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Jay,

Your wiring was what I was thinking. I had found a TCONT401 wiring schematic and kind of guessed what you came up with. I was unsure on the white and black wires though. The lady of the house wants a programmable t-stat. I'm personally fine with manually setting the Trane t-stat.

thanks once again.
Mike
 
  #5  
Old 02-11-11, 08:51 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Let her know doing the program on HP with Electric back up is going to cost far more money than leaving it be. Also, with the old stat, you could have humidity control. (it wasn't hooked up?)
 
  #6  
Old 02-12-11, 12:40 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll let her find out for herself, I told her we should use the Trane but she insists on a programmable. Maybe the electric bill will shock her into going back to the old t-stat. As far as humidity control, I'm not sure if it was hooked up or for that matter what it actually is?
 
  #7  
Old 02-12-11, 02:47 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If BK was tied at the t-stat and at the air handler, when the humidity is above set point, the t-stat will slow down the blower speed to help remove the humidity. Also, when you run the fan "ON", you can control the speed to from the Trane.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: