Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Thermostatic Controls
Reload this Page >

Replace White-Rodgers 1F58 with Honeywell RTH3100 - Rheem heat pump

Replace White-Rodgers 1F58 with Honeywell RTH3100 - Rheem heat pump


  #1  
Old 07-23-11, 09:09 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replace White-Rodgers 1F58 with Honeywell RTH3100 - Rheem heat pump

I have a Rheem heat pump and indoor coil, models RPKA-030JAZ and RCBA-3765AS17. I have electric auxiliary heat. I am replacing a White Rodgers 1F58 mercury thermostat with a Honeywell RTH3100. I would really appreciate a double check on my wiring.

Here's are the terminals on the old W-R that had wires connected:
B
R
G
Y
W2

Here's how I plan to connect them to the Honeywell:
W-R--->Honeywell
B ----->B
R ----->R
G ----->G
Y ----->Y
W2---->Aux (w/jumper to E terminal)

I have some wire from a 24v wall wart hanging around the garage. It is braided wire, not solid. Is that acceptable to use for the jumper?
 
  #2  
Old 07-23-11, 12:22 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
all looks ok and yes, braided will work, Prefer solid, but it will work none the less.
 
  #3  
Old 07-23-11, 02:07 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When you go into set up menu, set the heating cycles to 3. It will give you better comfort.
 
  #4  
Old 07-25-11, 05:26 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the help! I'll replace the jumper with solid wire as soon as I get a chance.
 
  #5  
Old 07-25-11, 06:48 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
After wiring the new thermostat as discussed above, I had an A/C service tech out to the house for an unrelated problem. After mentioning it, the tech immediately assumed I had wired the thermostat incorrectly. He changed the thermostat wiring without testing it. He couldn't get the A/C to function and then spent 15 minutes on the phone while someone back at the office instructed him to hook up the thermostat THE WAY I ORIGINALLY WIRED IT.

Thanks to this forum for the guidance to get things right the first time.
 
  #6  
Old 07-26-11, 06:20 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Glad to help you out. Have a great week.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: