Lennox wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-27-11, 10:38 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lennox wiring

I am trying to install a Lennox Comfort Sense7000 but am having some difficulty. My old tstat had 5 wires. Red, blue (not hooked up), white, yellow, and green. The old one had batteries, the Lennox does not. I've been told that I need a common but don't know how to run the wires. There is a red wire on the C terminal of the AH.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-28-11, 07:38 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,423
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Turn off power to your indoor unit and connect the unused blue wire to C at the stat and C at the air handler.

The outdoor unit needs 2 conductors to feed C and Y. A standard roll of 2 conductor wire comes with red and white. You are using that red wire to supply C to the outdoor unit.

The 2 conductors to the outdoor unit are interchangeable (but I would have used red for Y and white for C). You are only energizing a contactor with most outdoor units.


 
  #3  
Old 08-29-11, 06:50 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tried hooking the blue wires in the AH to common and the blue wire in the stat to the common and still nothing, not even lighting up. The outside unit model number is GSX130361BA, AH is GMS80703AN. The terminals on the AH are Y,W,R,G,C. Ready to give up, before I do some damage.
 

Last edited by charliebrooke01; 08-29-11 at 06:56 AM. Reason: add words
  #4  
Old 08-29-11, 06:05 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,423
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
How many blue wires did you connect to common?
 
  #5  
Old 08-29-11, 07:18 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
there were 2 blue wires and i didn't have anyone to help me find out which one went to the stat. can i just put 2 lead wires from the common and red terminals in the AH to the stat just to see if it comes on? shouldn't that at least turn it on?
 
  #6  
Old 08-29-11, 08:18 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,423
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
The set wired to the furnace G terminal (usually green) is the stat.

Did you pop the blade type 3 amp automotive fuse on the furnace circuit board?
 
  #7  
Old 08-29-11, 08:36 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,423
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
You can touch the R (24VAC) wire to the G (fan) wire to prove the fuse.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: