Replacing my current thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-20-12, 08:48 AM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 632
Replacing my current thermostat

I have a thermostat that probably came with the house when it was built in the 70's.

I opened up the thermostat today. I attached a picture of the EXISTING thermostat. Why is the Brown wire connected to the Common terminal instead of the Brown terminal?

When I am looking for a NEW thermostat, is there anything specific that I should be looking for, in term of compatibilities to replace the existing thermostat?

Thank You
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-20-12, 08:55 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
If you have a basic heating and cooling system, then you don't need "B" hooked up. The letters don't mean color code. So when you do replace the stat, make note of what color wires go to what letters, and match it up the same with the new stat.

Are you looking for a program stat or what?
 
  #3  
Old 08-20-12, 10:21 AM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 632
Hi Jay, thanks for the quick response. I am not sure what I should be looking for when it comes to buying a new thermostat. I am planning to replace it with a digital one.

Thanks for your advice on the wire color coding.
 
  #4  
Old 08-20-12, 10:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,470
Upvotes Received: 16
You need a one-stage heating and one-stage cooling thermostat. It is okay if you have more stages, they just won't be used. Stick with a name brand like Honeywell. Stay far away from Filtrete and Hunter.
 
  #5  
Old 08-20-12, 10:40 AM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 632
Will do Furd. Thank you for the name brand recommendation.
 
  #6  
Old 08-20-12, 10:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,612
Upvotes Received: 3
I replaced my old t-stats with 7 day programmable ones. For heating, they are great as you can schedule when you are home, asleep or away and adjust the heat accordingly. Can save a lot on heating costs.

Cooling.... They are not so useful. At my old house with heat and AC, I would leave the AC constant and have the heat rise and lower based on our schedule.
 
  #7  
Old 08-20-12, 10:58 AM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 632
Thanks Mike. Lowes has several different categories from programmable, learnable, touch screen and non-programmable. Thanks to your post on the saving cost of heat, I probably will invest into a programmable since that might be a good idea when I am away during the day time. Have the house ready by the time I get home.
 
  #8  
Old 08-20-12, 11:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,612
Upvotes Received: 3
It works amazing for us.
Using our old house as an example;
At night, when we sleep, drop the temp to 65'F.
Just before I get out of bed, up to 68-69'F
Leave for work, down to 64'F
Home from work, back to 68-69'F

Our new (to us) house is still a bit complicated as we have a zone for our bedroom floors (second and third) and a one for our main. I only installed ours in early Febuary, so I have a bit of playing to get it set to the most efficient scheduling.
 
  #9  
Old 08-20-12, 07:25 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Don't buy Hunter that Lowes sells, but I'd stay with the Honeywell Lines that is sold at Home Depot. Don't Lux too.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes