Installing Honeywell Wifi RTH8580WF

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-30-12, 01:21 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing Honeywell Wifi RTH8580WF

Hello -

I recently bought a Honeywell Wifi thermostat to replace an old thermostat that was in our house (we recently bought the house). The problem I'm having is that there are more wires that it appears is required for the Honeywell. Also, I need a C wire, but don't have one. I've been doing a lot of research and have found a way to use the G wire in the place of it. I did that method and received some power, but not enough. For some reason the thermostat continues to flicker and reset. I am running out of options here, so I'm asking for some help. Attached you will see pics of how our thermostat was setup prior to the re-wiring with the G/C wire.

I also have a blue and orange wire that have nowhere to go on the Honeywell.

I really appreciate any help!

Brad
 
Attached Images    
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-30-12, 05:40 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What zone are you planning on hooking this up to?

What's the model # on the zone board? (Can't make it out on the photo)
 
  #3  
Old 10-30-12, 06:00 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
you can not use this thermostat to replace the old one that you show in the pictures with this zoning board.
 
  #4  
Old 10-31-12, 08:14 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi - thanks for the reply. The model is EWC-ST-2E. I'm trying to hookup two thermostats to two different zones, both zone 1 and zone 2.
Brad
 
  #5  
Old 10-31-12, 08:17 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi hvactechfw - is it easy to replace zone boards? How much would it cost me to replace one with one that would work?

Thx
 
  #6  
Old 10-31-12, 03:04 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
It may be difficult for you if you don't mark every wire and get it into the right spot on the replacement board. I do not think that would be a DIY job. If you don't wire it correctly you may do harm to the system equipment.

Based on what I can see in your picture a Honeywell HZ311K would work just fine.
 
  #7  
Old 10-31-12, 05:34 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
[HR][/HR]Thank you for the reply. Do you know any wifi thermostats that would work with this system? EWC sure makes it difficult to get a good thermostat. Any reason why they would make it so difficult?

Thanks,
Brad
 
  #8  
Old 10-31-12, 05:49 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
It's just how old technology worked. Many manufacturer's did it the same way. I know of NO wifi stays that have separate o and b terminals.
 
  #9  
Old 10-31-12, 06:44 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. The house was built in '03, so I thought the technology would be a little more up to date.

Just so I know, how long would it take a professional to install this? Also, what is a good cost estimate? Just want make sure I know what I'm getting myself into.

There are several non-wifi devices that will work and want to make sure it's worth it.

Thanks!
Brad
 
  #10  
Old 10-31-12, 06:58 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree with Kevin, if you really want to do WiFi, you'll have to update the zone control panel.

It may take an hour or so to change out the panel. Cost, you'll have to get a bid from your local dealer on this.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: