Replace White Rodgers 1F89-211 with Honeywell TH8320U1008


  #1  
Old 01-10-13, 08:42 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Replace White Rodgers 1F89-211 with Honeywell TH8320U1008

I am looking to replace my current White Rodgers 1F89-211 Thermostat with a Honeywell VisionPro 8000 Model TH8320U1008. This is is on my upstairs heating and cooling system. If this goes well I will tackle the downstairs system as well.

I apologize in advance if my terminology isn't perfect.
Outside I have a Rheem Model RHSA-HM3617JA (Heat Pump/AC)
Upstairs is a Rheem Model RPNE-036JAZ (Air Handler) I know I have Heat strips.
Thermostat is a White Rodgers Model 1F89-211 wired as follows:
Terminal C - Brown Wire
Terminal L - Empty
Terminal W2 - White Wire & jumped to Terminal E
Terminal E - Orange Wire jumped to above
Terminal R - Red Wire
Terminal G- Green Wire
Terminal O/B - Blue Wire
Terminal Y - Yellow Wire
I have attached a photo.

What is the correct wiring going to be for the new thermostat and what are the proper Installer setup settings going to be?
Thanks in advance for any assistance. This site has great information.
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 01-10-13, 08:09 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Old---------------New
C - Brown--------C
W2 - White ------Aux*
E - Orange--------E*
R - Red----------R/Rc
G- Green----------G
O/B - Blue-------O/B
Y - Yellow-------Y1

* If your new stat don't have the Aux and E by itself, then you wire both white and orange to Aux/E.

Set up menu.

170- 7
180-1
190-1
200-0
210-0
220-2
240 to 270- 3 (some may not show up)

Did you get the outdoor sensor?


 
  #3  
Old 01-11-13, 06:06 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Jay11J,
Thanks for your response.
I did not order the optional outdoor sensor with this thermostat.
The thermostat is in transit and hasn't been delivered yet, so all my research is being done using the installation manual on Honeywell's website.
How does the lack of the outdoor sensor affect Setting #210? Will it not show up?
Also, I note the new thermostat has a single Aux/E Terminal so you instructed to wire both the orange and white to it. Do they usually make the terminal holes big enough to fit both wires or will I have to do a splice?
Thanks again.
 
  #4  
Old 01-11-13, 06:33 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
For your case, not really a big deal on the outdoor sensor. I would also set this up as a non-program stat. Otherwise, using program set back is not saving you any money since the heat strip would have to come on to help recover.

Should be enough room for you wire to piggy back each other in the Aux/E section.
 
  #5  
Old 01-11-13, 06:54 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I only plan to program it with a 1 or 2 degree differential throughout the day, so I hope this won't work the heat strips to hard. My main reason for going with this thermostat is I like the fan circ setting.
Another question concerning Settings 220 and 240 to 270. The manual says the default is as follows:
220 (1st stage compressor rate). 3 You said make it 2

240 (1st stage heat) 5
250 (2Nd stage heat). 5
260 (3rd stage heat). 9 Do I even have this with my system?
You said to set them all to 3. Are these definite settings or should I leave them on default and see how it runs for a while. I only ask because I looked at your sticky about Honeywell CPH.
Sorry to be a pain but I don't want to screw this up.
 
  #6  
Old 01-11-13, 06:58 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Set it to 3 for best comfort. 5 or 9 is too short of a cycle, and it's going to cycle often, and system won't have a chance to work and do it's job and comfort.

I've gotten repsond and other messages saying they notice an imporovment in comfort.
 
  #7  
Old 01-11-13, 07:10 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sounds good.
And Setting 220, should I definitely change that to 2?
Thanks for all your help.
 
  #8  
Old 01-11-13, 01:38 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
LOnger compressor run time will help with humidity removal in the summer.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: