Upgrading my thermo and adding a humidifier.

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-27-13, 09:26 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Upgrading my thermo and adding a humidifier.

Read through some threads and have done some research on the different models and I am writing to you to get some validation on my plans.

Currently I have a 2100sq ft above garage home. I have a lennox cx34-38b-6f-3 HVAC being controlled by an Aprilaire 8463 thermo.

What I plan on doing is adding an Aprilaire 500 humidifier to the HVAC and upgrading my thermo to a HW prestige thermo.

This should not be a problem wiring correct? My current wiring looks like this:







If you guys have any insight that would be greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance!


Ryan
 
  #2  
Old 01-27-13, 02:35 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Shouldn't be any problem at all, and are you going to do the model with the EIM? I'd suggest doing that so you can wire everything near the furnace than running new sets of wire.

Also, you'll be able to use the furnace as a true two stage furnace, and a few other things that it's not being used.
 
  #3  
Old 01-27-13, 03:19 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Jay, Thank you very much for your reply.

I will be getting the thermo, EIM, outdoor sensor, 2 duct sensors, and an internet gateway.

My home is new construction (built in the summer of '10) and was told my home is tight; thats why i looked at the aprilaire 500 humidifier. However, now i think im going to get the 600, to be on the safe side.

per aprilaire:
the 500 will cover a 3,000 tight house, and a 1500 average house.
the 600 wil cover a 4,000 tight house, and a 2000 average house
 
  #4  
Old 01-27-13, 03:23 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
500 would be plenty for your home. Unless you got a good deal on the 600 go for it.
 
  #5  
Old 01-27-13, 03:28 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
there is a 28 dollar difference so i figured why not
 
  #6  
Old 01-27-13, 03:32 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
just thought of this...

if i am going to be using the HW prestige thermo, should I get the manual humidifier versus the automatic?
 
  #7  
Old 01-27-13, 03:42 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Correct, you don't need to spend money on the auto control that is not going to be installed. If you find one with out a control, that should save you even more.
 
  #8  
Old 01-27-13, 05:31 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I would get the manual, no need for the extra cost of an automatic control if you are not going to use it.
 
  #9  
Old 02-02-13, 01:47 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Started early this morning and everything seems to be working now! thanks guys!!

Edit:

I noticed that you can pair an indoor air temperature sensor; should i buy that?
 

Last edited by phillips2024; 02-02-13 at 02:23 PM.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: