Nest 2nd Gen Thermostat Emergency Heat Wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-13-13, 06:20 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nest 2nd Gen Thermostat Emergency Heat Wiring

I just recently installed a 2nd Gen Nest thermostat and it's working great! The only thing is my old Honeywell Thermostat had a jumper wire from AUX to E. I do not have a wire connected to E, just the jumper. I was told the Nest does not require jumpers. Is there anyway to use one of the spare wires and connect a spare wire to E on the air handler in the attic? Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-14-13, 06:39 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am not up on these stat, and the manual on line says nothing.....

If you only had one wire on on Aux/E then you just wire it to Aux on the new stat..

Have you switched over to Emergency heat before?
 
  #3  
Old 03-15-13, 05:27 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, I have never had to use emergency heat but nice to have a backup in the winter. I took the cover off of the unit in the attic and there is no terminal labeled E, hence the jumper that was between AUX & E.
 
  #4  
Old 03-15-13, 06:35 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There will be no E on the air handler. It's W1, W2. W3. If the air handler had more than one banks, then we'd stage it.. W1 on Aux, W2 and W3 wired together on Aux2.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: