Rewiring Old Coleman Furnace for Filtrete 3M50 Thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-24-13, 12:07 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rewiring Old Coleman Furnace for Filtrete 3M50 Thermostat

Hey guys, im attempting to install a new Filtrete 3m50 thermostat in my house but my old furnace does not have a C wire. I read several posts on how to jump the Y and G wire together and then use the old G wire for the C wire. Only problem is that I dont know exactly how to do that on my furnace. I have attached pictures of the furnace wiring. Any help is greatly appreciated.
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-24-13, 04:32 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
You have a red and white wire that go to the a/c unit outside. The white wire is wire nutted to a blue wire. The Red wire is wire nutted to a brown wire from the furnace. That is the C wire. The diagram says it should be blue though.
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-13, 09:35 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply Kevin, just so Ive got this right before I touch anything. Now could I just run a new 18/5 wire and connect the new 5th wire to the brown wire as well? or did I misunderstand that? And if the answer to that is no, would rewiring the G to a C be a better option? and in order to do that, would I move the green/yellow nutted wire to the red/brown nutted wire? If my darn furnace just had a nice labeled junction I wouldnt have this wiring issue haha
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-13, 01:55 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Yes, run new wire, but I would run 18/8 for future upgrades. And then extra wire for C will connect to brown.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: