Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Thermostatic Controls
Reload this Page >

Installation of Venstar T1100REC Wireless Receiver and T1100RF Thermostat

Installation of Venstar T1100REC Wireless Receiver and T1100RF Thermostat


  #1  
Old 10-21-13, 05:10 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: US
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installation of Venstar T1100REC Wireless Receiver and T1100RF Thermostat

I am trying to install the Venstar T1100REC receiver in conjunction with the T1100RF thermostat. My current thermostat is a Honeywell TH4110D. The gas furnace is a Trane XB with a White-Rodgers 50A55-486 controller board. The old thermostat is wired as follows:

White wire - W
Green wire - G
Red wire - R (there is a metal jumper from R to Rc but no wire connected to Rc)

I wired the T1100REC as follows:
White wire - W1,O,B
Green wire- G
Red wire - R

After configuring the house code and device code to match (just confirmed default settings were OK) and turning up the heat a few degrees I could see that the call for heat lights and fan light came on the T1100REC. However, I got no burner or fan response from the furnace. Any suggestions? I have seen other users with the same thermostat (but with 4 or 5-wire setups) having success connecting a common wire. I thought of trying that but wanted some expert advice before proceeding.
 
  #2  
Old 10-21-13, 05:20 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
http://www.venstar.com/Support/Insta...nstallRev3.pdf

Page 16 refers to power "sharing" if common isn't used.

I would connect common.
 
  #3  
Old 10-21-13, 05:28 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: US
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I see that there are several unused wires and that the C is not connected on the furnace controller board. Can i just hijack one of the unused wires and connect it to C at both ends?
 
  #4  
Old 10-21-13, 05:43 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Yep, you can just hijack one of the unused wires and connect it to C at both ends.

(wouldn't let me just say yep)
 
  #5  
Old 10-21-13, 05:54 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: US
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I will give it a try.
 
  #6  
Old 10-21-13, 06:22 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: US
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Works like a champ Houston504 thanks a million for the recommendation! I can't wait to try out the remote thermostat for my bedroom areas.
 
  #7  
Old 10-21-13, 06:28 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: US
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, I meant Houston204...really fat-fingered that one. Thanks again.
 
  #8  
Old 10-21-13, 07:58 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Happy to be of assistance.
Thank you for posting the results.
I hope that it can help others in the future.
 
  #9  
Old 10-27-14, 08:38 AM
N
Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: us
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Venstar T1100rec manual isunclear - not related to my 2 wire replacement

I have a 2 wire connection, red, white. The instructioin in the mamual are completely confusing. The diagram does not work-no power results. The furnace is gas and has the 24 volt wiring to the thermostat apready onboard.

Help please- specifics if they exist and no, its not a manual that i need, just some help because the manual is so unclear on 2 wire gas diagram.
 
  #10  
Old 10-27-14, 09:39 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,726
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Welcome to the forums!! How do you have the Venstar T1100rec wired? Are you saying you already have a wire going to the C terminal? If so, you should have 24V between the R and C terminals on the thermostat.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: