Thermostat wiring help

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-08-13, 09:37 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat wiring help

I need to install our Honeywell RTH7600d thermostat. There are only 4 wires to use...red, white, green, and yellow. We have Amana electric central heat/air. Any help would be appreciated!
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-08-13, 10:23 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Amana is model BMA42F00A and old thermostat was Honeywell T8112
 
  #3  
Old 11-08-13, 11:41 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,726
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Turn off power to the unit before doing any wiring changes. You should be able to swap wire for wire from old thermostat to new.

Red wire to R terminal (24V to thermostat from transformer)
Yellow wire to Y terminal (a/c compressor for cooling)
Green wire to G terminal (blower relay)
White wire to W terminal (heat)

Leave factory jumper between R and Rc. If your system is a single-stage heat, single-stage cool you should be done. If not, you will need to go into the installer set-up and configure your system to work properly as seen on page 11.

https://customer.honeywell.com/resou.../69-2206EF.pdf
 
  #4  
Old 11-08-13, 12:19 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you! I did this and the only problem is the heat is not coming on. The fan comes on and the display shows "heat on" but only cool air is blowing out. The a/c is working fine
 
  #5  
Old 11-08-13, 12:35 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,726
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your unit is a heat pump correct? If so, you need to go into the setup menu and configure it for a heat pump (see page 13).
 
  #6  
Old 11-08-13, 12:53 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I put the setting for 0170 to 1 since its heat with air conditioning. Are you saying it should be on 2?
 
  #7  
Old 11-08-13, 01:09 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,726
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is this just a conventional a/c and electric heat? If so, then 1 would be the right setting. Was the heat working properly before you changed the thermostat?
 
  #8  
Old 11-08-13, 01:18 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't think we have a heat pump. I'm sorry I am clueless. Is there an easy way to tell?
 
  #9  
Old 11-08-13, 01:23 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes the heat was working. Its just a unit with heat and a/c. We have not used the heat in a while but we have someone come out quarterly to service and check everything and the heat was just checked last month. I guess it's possible that something is wrong but my first guess is it's the thermostat
 
  #10  
Old 11-08-13, 01:28 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,726
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I suggest you by pass the thermostat. Turn off power to the unit. Remove the red wire from the R terminal, the green wire from the G terminal and the white wire from the W terminal. Connect these three wires together and turn power back on to the unit. If the heat comes on it shows you have a thermostat issue.
 
  #11  
Old 11-08-13, 05:43 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Do you have a jumper wire between Rc and R on the new stat?

Looks like the old stat was for conventional heating...


 
  #12  
Old 11-10-13, 06:32 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
we tried to bypass the thermostat and the fan comes on but still no heat coming out of vents. Yes, there is a jumper between rc and r. Thanks for helping. I believe we will be calling someone out tomorrow because it's supposed to get cold on Tue
 
  #13  
Old 11-10-13, 09:23 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I hope that it is only a sequencer problem.
 
  #14  
Old 11-11-13, 02:16 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, unfortunately, the heating element is bad....again. So hopefully we will enjoy the new thermostat once that is fixed tomorrow. Thanks again for the guidance.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: