Thermostat install and overloading the furnace C terminal?


  #1  
Old 11-24-13, 06:48 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat install and overloading the furnace C terminal?

Hi -

I am installing a Honeywell WIFI thermostat and don't have a C wire on my current thermostat. I plan to substitute the existing G wire for the C wire. After the rewire, my C terminal on the furnace will have 3 wires connected: 1.) ac unit, 2.) thermostat, and 3.) jumper wire connecting C and Y. Is that OK or am I overloading the C terminal? Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 11-24-13, 08:36 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,193
Received 1,530 Votes on 1,413 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The C connection or wire is the common connection point. You can't overload it. You may get several wires on the same terminal but that is ok.

The transformer that supplies the 24vac (C and R) can be overloaded if too many devices are put on it. You should be ok with just the WiFi thermostat.
 
  #3  
Old 12-08-13, 06:08 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 768
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
W,G and Y are all C sides of the system TR at the stat subbase ....never heard of jumping Y to C just a comment but if it has always been like that ..go with it
 
  #4  
Old 09-18-14, 08:08 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
C terminal

The y terminal is for cooling
 
  #5  
Old 09-18-14, 09:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,193
Received 1,530 Votes on 1,413 Posts
Thanks for the info..... the OP hasn't been back since he posted this.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: