observer thermostat locked up


  #1  
Old 03-23-14, 11:30 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 36
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
observer thermostat locked up

Hello,

One of my kids locked my Observer TSTAT0101SC thermostat and I can't unlock it. I've tried turning off power from the breaker, taking it off the wall and looking for a reset button, but didn't have any success. Does anyone out there know how to reset the password?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 03-23-14, 12:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,195
Received 1,531 Votes on 1,414 Posts
You have to actually enter a four digit code and then hit enter. Your kid actually did that ?

I don't know of a way of resetting the code. There is a master reset but ALL settings will be defaulted back to original.

Maybe one of the other forum pros will know.
 
  #3  
Old 03-23-14, 01:03 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
http://www.mcair.com/wp-content/them...observer-2.pdf

If this was accidentally done you might try common default passwords like 0000, 1111, and 1234.
 
  #4  
Old 03-23-14, 01:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,195
Received 1,531 Votes on 1,414 Posts
I read thru that Houston. It describes creating a password but no way to default one.
 
  #5  
Old 03-23-14, 02:17 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I'd still try those codes before resetting everything.
It might be ---- if it didn't start out with a number.
 
  #6  
Old 03-23-14, 03:13 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 36
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Code was 9999, thanks guys! She also managed to set the fan on high. I guess I aught to put a lock on it so that wont happen again.
 
  #7  
Old 03-23-14, 03:16 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Hey that is great news.
I'm glad that you were able to figure this out without resetting everything.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: