Installing new Honeywell t-stat on heat pump system

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-20-14, 07:13 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Installing new Honeywell t-stat on heat pump system

Good morning! So I had an interesting time last night trying to replace my ancient tstat with a more modern smart tstat from Honeywell on my heat pump type AC unit. After installing the new unit (not 100% sure if done properly), the system wouldn't turn on... After about an hour of fruitless troubleshooting, I replaced it with the original thermostat to prevent sending the family to bed with no AC. Shortly after replacing the orig, I found a burnt 3A fuse in the furnace. Which is undoubtedly due to my removing the orig tstat prior to shutting off AC breaker. So an hour ensued of searching my local stores for a 3A fuse.

Anyways....

I've returned everything to original working condition and decided to consult the ever so generous experts on this forum! I really appreciate anyone willing to take a bit of time to ensure I can wire this up properly this time (with the breaker properly disconnected ahead of time )

MY CURRENT CONFIG with descriptions from wiring sticky
R - Red - 24 volts from equipment.
W2 - White or Any - Aux Heat / Second Stage Heat
O (/B) - Orange - Energizes heat pump reversing valve for cooling
X1 - Blue - Emergency Heat
G - Green - Fan On
Y - Yellow - controls cooling unit (outdoor condensing unit) also is used for heat pump heat.

NEW TSTAT TERMINALS
C
K
RC - jumpered to R
R
W-O/B
Y
G
W2-Aux/E
Y2
L

If image links are broken, replace the asterisks with tinypic[dot]com

Old tstat wiring


Wiring diagram inside furnace

Wiring inside furnace

New tstat
Honeywell TH9320WF5003 WiFi 9000

Wiring panel for new tstat



As you can see, there are a few terminals on old tstat that don't exist on new tstat. Can anyone help me decode and translate to new tstat?

New tstat has different wiring configs for different types of heat pump systems but I don't know if this is a 1C/1H or 1C/2H, etc... All I know is orig tstat has Aux heat and Emergency heat options. Sorry for being dumb on this... Hoping someone can help!
 

Last edited by ecapuano; 05-20-14 at 09:46 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-20-14, 09:09 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I can't get it to work. Can you repost?
 
  #3  
Old 05-20-14, 09:45 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, should be fixed. Found a way to upload the images to imgur, do they show up now?
 
  #4  
Old 05-20-14, 10:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,865
Received 1,204 Votes on 1,114 Posts
Your pics and links are working. The DIY site doesn't allow linking to tiny pics.
 
  #5  
Old 05-20-14, 10:24 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,865
Received 1,204 Votes on 1,114 Posts
2 heat - 1 cool system

OLD - color - NEW

G = green = G
Y = yellow = Y
R = red = Rh/Rc
W2 = white = Aux/E
X1 = blue = C
O = orange = O

Be sure to turn power off to air handler when making wiring changes.
( X1 is common - X2 is emergency heat )
 
  #6  
Old 05-20-14, 10:51 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outstanding, I'll be sure to wire this up as soon as I get home....

Curious though, I see my "Aux/E" heat but where is my emergency?

Better question would be, which is primary heat and which is secondary? Do I even have two (or more) types of heating?
 
  #7  
Old 05-20-14, 11:32 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,865
Received 1,204 Votes on 1,114 Posts
Your primary heat is the heat pump and the secondary is the electric coils. You no longer have an "emergency" position on your thermostat.
 
  #8  
Old 05-20-14, 04:47 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJmax, you deserve a tip sir! Do you have a PayPal account? If so, PM me your PayPal email address. Can also tip in Doge, Bitcoin, and Litecoin
 
  #9  
Old 05-20-14, 05:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,865
Received 1,204 Votes on 1,114 Posts
Nope.... no tip necessary. What goes around comes around.

Glad everything worked out there.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: