Wiring Nest Thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-24-14, 04:41 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring Nest Thermostat

Hey! Just have a quick wiring question. Going to be hooking up a Nest Version 2 thermostat soon. I have a 2 stage heat pump system now with a Lennox T Stat. I took it off to look at the wires and see if the Nest was compatible. It looks all good. Here is the wires I have

O
R
Y1
W1
E
G
C
T(gray wire)
T(black wire)

my question is this: does anyone know where too hook the two T wires on the nest. That isn't even an option for a wire on their online help tool and I am lost. Thank you!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-24-14, 11:38 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
The 2 T terminals are probably for an outdoor temperature sensor and should be taped off separately.
If you post the make and model number of the old stat we may be able to verify this.
 
  #3  
Old 05-24-14, 03:42 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the response! Right now I've a Lennox 51M37. With a heat pump. What do you mean by taped off? Like not used anymore
 
  #4  
Old 05-24-14, 04:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,799
Received 1,194 Votes on 1,105 Posts
Those two wires are indeed for an outside sensor. Your new thermostat does not use them so there will be no place to connect them. You just want to tape them lightly so they don't short to anything on the thermostat.

Name:  51m37.jpg
Views: 1972
Size:  49.7 KB
 
  #5  
Old 05-24-14, 05:18 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Perfect thanks!! So should I not be worried about the outside temperature sensor not being used anymore? Or is it just not necessary now
 
  #6  
Old 05-24-14, 05:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,799
Received 1,194 Votes on 1,105 Posts
I think it's a great thing to have...... I'd be using it.
I wouldn't be using the nest as it can't use that sensor.

Now it's just not necessary.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: