Switching Trane Thermostat to Honeywell WIFI--Wire help


  #1  
Old 05-31-14, 10:48 AM
Kime Eubanks's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Switching Trane Thermostat to Honeywell WIFI--Wire help

My Unit is a Trane Heat Pump model no: 4TWR4048A 1000AA
Thermostat Removing: Trane TCONT602AF22MAA (Also says TH6220D1051)
Thermostat Installing: Honeywell RTH9580WF1005
Was: R-R, Y-Y, Blue-B, O-O, G-G, W-W1, Black-Y2, Brown-F

What wires go where on Honeywell?
 
  #2  
Old 05-31-14, 11:11 AM
Kime Eubanks's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Correction: Black was in X2
 
  #3  
Old 05-31-14, 12:40 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can you post a pic of the terminals on the new stat?
 
  #4  
Old 05-31-14, 12:49 PM
Kime Eubanks's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ignore the wires. I started and got confused.Name:  Honeywell Thermostat.jpg
Views: 4047
Size:  34.6 KB
 
  #5  
Old 05-31-14, 02:19 PM
Kime Eubanks's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Old Trane Stat

This is how they looked on the old Trane stat

Name:  Old Trane Stat.jpg
Views: 22419
Size:  27.2 KB
 
  #6  
Old 06-01-14, 07:28 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try this, Red is ok, move Blue wire to C, Put Orange on W-O/B, Move white wire to W2. I can't tell what is landed on W2? Y is OK. Brown wire, is it labeled C?
 
  #7  
Old 06-01-14, 11:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,101
Received 1,509 Votes on 1,396 Posts
Should take care of you.

F = brown = tape off - not needed
X2 = black = may not be needed
W1 = white = W2-aux/e
G = green = G
O = orange = O
B = blue = C
Y = yellow = Y
R = red = R (leave jumper intact)
 
  #8  
Old 06-09-14, 08:31 AM
Kime Eubanks's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay forget the last pic. I returned it and got a Honeywell Prestige THX9421R5021WW with Redlink. It just has two wires, R and C. I got R but which for C?
 
  #9  
Old 06-09-14, 08:49 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,101
Received 1,509 Votes on 1,396 Posts
You do realize that this thermostat requires an Equipment Interface Module to be installed at the equipment end...... correct ?

It's just two wires from the thermostat to the EIM.
Red = R
Blue = C
 
  #10  
Old 06-09-14, 04:24 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Looks like that number does not include the EIM but it does require it.
This model includes the EIM...
Honeywell Prestige YTHX9421R5085WW 2 Wire IAQ With Sensors - Programmable Household Thermostats - Amazon.com
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: