Thermostat and humidity settings when away in coastal FL


  #1  
Old 06-05-14, 09:27 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 754
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat and humidity settings when away in coastal FL

Hello we have a condo in coastal FL that we use several times a year. I am most concerned about mold, not temperature. What should we set thermostat temp and humidity to when it is unoccupied?
We have an Ecobee Smart Si thermostat that allows us to use ac as dehumidifier. Essentially, if I understand it correctly, when the thermostat temp trips the ac, the thermostat will monitor the humidity. If the humidity is above our upper limit, it will run the ac to decrease the humidity and continue to run ac up to 5 degrees below our temp set point. So, if we had upper level of humidity set at 56%, and temp at 82, when temp reached 82, ac would run until humidity was below 55% or until temp got to 77.
Thank you
Dave
 
  #2  
Old 06-05-14, 03:23 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Sounds like you have it figured out to me.
 
  #3  
Old 06-06-14, 05:06 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 754
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, should I set it at 82 deg and 56% humidity or should I set humidity lower?
 
  #4  
Old 06-06-14, 05:23 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,047
Received 91 Votes on 86 Posts
What model thermostat are you using?I have a condo in Fla. and I am interested in humidity contol.
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 06-06-14, 07:12 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 754
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ecobee Smart Si. Very reasonably priced. Straightforward installation. And i like that ican see what is going on with temp and humidity when we are not here. And i can change settings remotely.
 
  #6  
Old 06-06-14, 09:57 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,119
Received 1,512 Votes on 1,398 Posts
So, should I set it at 82 deg and 56% humidity or should I set humidity lower?
It's going to be a trial and error thing. Without knowing what the normal humidity level is to be expected we'd be just guessing.
 
  #7  
Old 06-06-14, 12:13 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,047
Received 91 Votes on 86 Posts
I have checked the installation manual for this stat and I can't see where there is an option to set the humidity ranges,am I missing something?
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 06-06-14, 12:39 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 754
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They released firmware recently. There is something called Max Overcool. You can set it to be up to 5 deg. Say I have ac set for 85 deg. When the temp hits 85, ac comes on. If it is above the desired humidity ( I have it set to 55), the ac will run until it gets below the 56% up to a 5 deg difference, so it would cool condo down to 80 or until humidity is below 56%. We used to have separate humidistat controlling our old thermostat but I disconnected it.
 
  #9  
Old 06-06-14, 01:17 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,047
Received 91 Votes on 86 Posts
Thanks for that,I had the same setup with a humidistat in series with Y1on the thermostat so in order to have a function (cooling or dehumidification) both humidistat and temperature would have to be be calling,never made sense to me so I removed the humidistat and now use a dehumidifier while I am away,many of the condos in this community are wired the same.
Geo
 
  #10  
Old 06-06-14, 02:09 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 754
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes. I had same setup. I now can monitor temp and humidity online and get alert for high humidity and/or temp. And can turn on ac or change settings remotely.
 
  #11  
Old 06-06-14, 04:16 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 754
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am going to set temp for 85 and humidity for 54%. I have an alert set for if humidity gets above 56%. I can then remotely change temp to lower one to have ac come on longer to keep humidity down.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: